Former Municipality Boundaries

Field Name - Description/Definition
AREA_ID - Internal geographic identifier
AREA_NAME - Name of the former municipality
OBJECTID - Internal unique object ID

This data is a GIS file that outlines the geographical area of the former six municipalities in the City of Toronto.

This data set is used for historical purposes and reflects the former level of municipal government that existed when the six former Municipalities where in place (i.e. Etobicoke, North York, Scarborough, York, East York and former Toronto). Today it is often referred to and sometimes still used by city divisions or citizens.

This is the final version and has been retired and replaced with the ONE City of Toronto Boundary.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Dataset Category Map
Refresh Rate As available
Collection Method
Excerpt This data is in an ESRI GIS Shape file format that outlines the geographical administrative areas of the former six municipalities in the City of Toronto pre amalgamation.
Owner Division Information & Technology
Owner Section
Owner Unit
Owner Email
Author Email
Maintainer Email
Civic Issues
    • CSV
    • SHP
    • JSON
    • GPKG
    • City government
    • Locations and mapping
    Information URL
    Image URL
    Last Updated 2022-09-19 12:02:11.447447
    Is Retired? false
    Date Published 2019-07-23 17:30:33.993276